Faith

From my friend Roberto with small cell cancer in tree vital organs. Roberto lives in San Diego California.

Translated by his friend Graziella Bruni

Dear Paolo,

I send you what I wrote at 4 in the morning of Tuesday, July 16, 2013 with the hope that you will read it, because I want to keep it and maybe publish it; I do not know when, but I will decide sooner or later.  I thank God from the bottom of my heart, I thank Him because he made us walk this pathtogether, we are in the same “plague” and we are aware that each moment could be the one that brings us to his presence.

Here, in this silence, I do not know if it is natural or because I am deaf, I felt the desire to write this letter to you: I sleep little, but I think a lot, I would say I think about all that God has created, I can say it now, but I could not do it before, because I did not believe. I have the desire, a strong desire and even a little bit urgent, to go and pray in that little church, the one I liked also when I was, as you say, a ” priests’ eater and an altars burning fellow”.

I fell in love with that little church at the very beginning of my American adventure and now I want to go in front of the Virgin Mary and thank her for her intercession. I convinced all those who came to see me, to go by that church.

I’ll have to go and take a look at all the corners of the church and pray, yes,  pray the “Our Father” and the “Hail Mary”, but also a more personal prayer, more profound, in which I would like to add a thought for my friends. I have already thought of you by asking to place you in a double room with me for the eternity; Paolo, I would like to pray for my family and especially for my son, to have a chance to live longer, and not leave his daughter, his mother and me in so much pain. Here I will pray with my heart for everything.  After all, I’ve already had enough in life and I just have to be thankful for that.

Paolo, during these last days I think I told you a lot of things, perhaps everything that have come to mind, and now you should add this good news too: last night I was chatting with Patty and, deep down, I was hoping she would have accompanied me to the little church, but, as I had upset her several times, I did not even dare to mention it. Well, it was Patty who, with a long series of words, explained that she had absolutely no problem, not only to accompany me to the door, but also to come to church with me. Thank you my God of that as well!

Mine will always remain the same bad temper: always quick to loose my temper, but my heart will always be all yours, my Jesus and my adored Virgin Mary!!

With humility, as yet unknown to me, I wish this letter to my friend Paolo, to be a prayer for You .

 

Roberto

foto[1] copy

Roberto in front of his beloved chapel-Roberto davanti alla sua chiesina preferita

“Dal mio amico Roberto che vive in San Diego California ed ha Small Cells Cancer a tre organi vitali

La Fede

Caro Paolo,
ti mando quanto ho scritto alle 4 di mattina di martedì 16 luglio 2013  con la speranza che tu lo legga perché vorrei conservarlo e forse pubblicarlo; ora non saprei, ma prima o poi deciderò. Ringrazio il Signore dal profondo del mio cuore, lo ringrazio perché ci ha messo a fare un po’ di strada insieme: siamo nelle stesse peste e siamo consapevoli che ogni momento potrebbe essere quello che ci porta alla sua presenza.

Ecco in questo silenzio, non so se è naturale o perché son sordo, ho sentito il desiderio di scriverti questa mail: dormo poco, ma penso tanto, direi penso a tutto quello che Dio ha creato, ora lo posso dire, prima non potevo perché un ci credevo. E mi viene il desiderio, un desiderio forte e anche un pochino urgente, di andare a pregare in quella mia chiesetta, che mi piaceva anche quando ero un “mangia preti e brucia altari” come dici te.

M’innamorai di quella chiesina proprio all’inizio di questa mia avventura americana e ora vorrei andare davanti a quella madonnina e ringraziarla della sua intercessione. L’ho fatta visitare da tutti quelli che son venuti a trovarmi.

Dovrò andare a guardare tutti gli angoli di quella chiesetta e pregare; pregare si con l’Avemaria e il Padrenostro, ma anche una preghiera più mia personale, più profonda, nella quale vorrei inserire un pensiero verso gli amici. A te ho già pensato chiedendo di mettermi in una camera doppia con me per l’eternita`; vorrei pregare per i miei famigliari e in particolare per mio figlio Paolo che abbia la possibilità di vivere più a lungo, che non mi lasci e non lasci sua figlia e sua madre con un dolore così grande. Ecco pregherò col cuore per tutto ciò.

In fondo io ho già avuto abbastanza e per me, devo solo ringraziare.

Paolo, in questi giorni credo di avertene dette tante, forse tutte quelle che mi son venute in mente; ora aggiungi anche questa bella notizia: ieri sera chiaccheravo con la Patty e, sotto sotto, speravo che mi accompagnasse alla chiesetta, ma, visto che l’avevo fatta arrabbiare più volte, non avevo neppure il coraggio di accennarglielo. Bene è stata lei, che con un lungo giro di parole, mi ha spiegato che lei non aveva nessunissimo problema ad accompagnarmi non solo lì al portone, ma anche ad entrare in chiesa insieme a me.  Grazie mio Dio anche di questo!

Il mio resterà sempre il caratteraccio che è: sempre facile a prendere i cocci, ma il mio cuore sarà sempre tutto per te Gesù e adorata Modonnina !!!! 

Con l’umiltà, a me finora sconosciuta, voglia questa mia mail all’amico Paolo, essere per Voi una preghiera.

 

Roberto

 

Leave a Reply

