You Have a Few Months

I was taking the powerful painkiller and pancreatic enzymes prescribed by the surgeon totally unaware of the problem I was in; something was not clicking but I did not know what. I went to see Yisheng and told him all I new. He was very clear; he said: “You have few months”. I ask him to please repeat and explain and he did; he also mentioned a procedure to remove metastasis from my lever and contacted the wright surgeon at another hospital in Manhattan, but Onkydoc and two other reliable persons advised me absolutely not to do it: ”the procedure is fine, but not with a cancer to the pancreas”. I became inoperable! Things got complicated!

Every so often I find myself doing assessments and plans on the time I have left and on the quality of my life. I have no doubts: if to last a few weeks longer I will have to live a miserable life it would not worth anybody’s while;  ………. I wish I had a little longer to move forward with meditation, to be on the right track………. I would like to see my grandchildren, nephews and nieces grow and Sara too, but I understand that I will not have the time.  Carole is strong and will not have problems, but our relationship is alive, deep and still developing………. I would like to finish the book of my memories ………. maybe I should try with a Filipino healer, but …………

Every time it happens I fill like a scorpion surrounded by fire: no way out………….. best to take a good book and change the subject.

The pages of an old colleague journalist make me go quickly to my practical side: he reports that Ayurveda doctors distinguish between curable and incurable diseases, but cancer is not part of either group because it is an exceptional disease. One of these Indian doctors said, “Cancer is a disease from which is hard to recover; much depends on the patient ” roughly:

Life duration is strictly dependent

on the inner strength of the patient

and on how much his day

is organized ok

The opinion of Ayurveda doctor’s seemed to me so correct that I immediately proceeded to change my old schedule to suit the needs of cancer, which are not few, especially if you want to keep your feet into more than one stirrup, I inspired myself to: Western medicine, holistic, Eastern, some in-between and some South American. For the moment I have not take magic in consideration, but if it will became necessary I will not hesitate. In desperate times, desperate remedies! From years I meditate twenty minutes twice a day, now I have added five minutes of limbic breathing and fifteen of Mental Imagery three times a day. And it is not over: I cook five small meals a day, prepare some supplements and my Cleansing Drink using a beautiful extractor which must be washed right after each use! I exercise too: I swim three times a week for an hour: back and forth two hours as I walk twenty blocks.

To die, one must be in perfect shape, can you image how long a guy like me has to run in order to get to the havens!

I like flowers and this is the orchid my daughter Cristina send my - Adoro i fiori; quest e` la bella orckidea che mi ha regalato mia figlia Cristina

I like flowers and this is the orchid my daughter Cristina send my – Adoro i fiori; quest e` la bella orckidea che mi ha regalato mia figlia Cristina

Lei Ha Pochi Mesi

Stavo prendendo il potente antidolorifico e gli enzimi pancreatici prescritti dal chirurgo totalmente all’oscuro dell’entità del problema. Sentivo che qualcosa non tornava, ma quando sono andato a vedere Yisheng , tutto si è chiarito. Mi ha detto: “Lei ha pochi mesi”. Gli ho chiesto di ripetere e di spiegare; l’ha fatto e ha parlato di una procedura per togliere le metastasi dal fegato e mi ha messo in contatto col chirurgo di un ospedale di Manhattan,ma Onkydoc e altre due persone affidabili, mi hanno assolutamente sconsigliato: “la procedura va bene, ma non con un cancro al pancreas”. Così sono diventato inoperabile e l’avventura si complica!

Ogni tanto mi scopro a fare valutazioni e piani sul tempo che mi resta e sulla qualità della vita che mi resta e non ho dubbi: se per allungarla di qualche settimana dovrò vivere una vita grama non varrà la pena. Ma vorrei avere un po’ di tempo per avanzare con la meditazione, per essere sulla strada giusta; vorrei veder crescere i nipoti e la Sara, ma capisco che comunque non ne avrò il tempo.  Carole è forte e non avrà problemi, ma il nostro rapporto è vivo, profondo e ancora in via di sviluppo……..vorrei finire il libro dei miei ricordi……….potrei provare col guaritore filippino, ma……..

Tutte le volte che mi soffermo a fare queste valutazioni mi sembra d’essere uno scorpione circondato dal fuoco: non c’è soluzione; meglio  prendere un buon libro e cambiare argomento.

Le pagine di un mio vecchio collega giornalista mi fanno passare rapidamente, al pratico. Il mio illustre concittadino racconta che i medici Ayurveda distinguono fra malattie curabili e incurabili, ma il cancro non farebbe parte di questi gruppi perché è una malattia eccezionale. Uno di questi medici indiani gli disse: ” Il cancro è una malattia dalla quale si guarisce male; molto dipende dal malato:

La durata della vita è dipendente

dalla forza interiore del paziente

e da quanto è ordinata

ogni sua giornata.”

L’opinione del medico Ayurveda mi è sembrata tanto corretta che ho subito provveduto a cambiare i miei vecchi orari per adattarli alle necessità di questo male che richiede non poco specie se si vuol tenere i piedi in più staffe come faccio io: medicina occidentale, olistica, orientale e qualche via di mezzo e Sudamericana. Per ora ho scartato la magia, ma se diventasse necessario la prenderò in considerazione. A estremi mali, estremi rimedi.

Da anni faccio venti minuti di meditazione due volte al giorno e cinque di respirazione limbica tre volte al giorno; da quando mi hanno diagnosticato il cancro faccio anche 15 minuti di un esercizio mentale tre volte al giorno.   Ma, il discorso non finisce qui, mi devo preparare cinque piccoli pasti, alcuni supplementi e la mia Bevanda Disintossicante che preparo con un bellissimo l’estrattore che devo lavare subito dopo. Poi c’è l’esercizio: vado in piscina tre volte la settimana e tra andare, fare e tornare mi occorrono due ore perché` faccio venti isolati a piedi.

Quando uno crepa, deve essere in perfetta forma; ve lo immaginate quanto avrà da correre uno come me per arrivare in paradiso!

Leave a Reply

