In Italy we say: Good games do not last long

It is surgery day! The MRI confirms that everything is ok: there are no changes in cancer and there are no metastasis around. The stent of my bile duct is tired of living, but it is not a problem, some antibiotic and it will be replaced during surgery.” They will remove the monster, after there will be hard times, but for a few months ”!

I am fasting, washed and re-washed with a special soap; the surgeon introduces me to the anesthesiologists. A kiss to Carole and off to the operating room. I mentally repeat the mantra of my meditation: “Ma-ra-na-tha …. Ma-ra-na-tha …..” and I wake up several hours later next to Greta, a good and kind nurse. Carole brings me up to date: “ They looked inside, found small metastases on the liver and did not performed the surgery; this is the procedure. Tomorrow morning they will change the stent”. The next day….. we go again!! Everybody is kind and the anesthesiologist is also pretty, blonde and nice; every little bit helps!

“Ma-ra-na-tha …… Ma-ra-na-tha ” which in Aramaic means “Come oh Lord”……. and I wake up a few hours later in another emergency room. Here I should spend three hours to fully wake up and to produce the required amount of urine before I can go home.

In the fog of my semi-slipping mind, I see a pair of spectacular eyes………………am I dreaming?  I touch whatever I find attached those eyes and I hear: “Maronna!” And I said, “Then you’re also Italian!”

We spent an hour laughing and joking; I soon produced all the fluid needed and I left to go home well awake and in a great mood! Nurses like that should not be in the recovery, but in the resurrection room!

My friend Paolo came to pick us up and on the way home I got to thinking: “I did not have surgery; is it very serious? I don’t think so: they will fix the liver and later they will operate on my pancreas. And I tell myself: “It could be more serious than you think, and you play with the nurse! Well …….. if I knew that it would have been more serious…. no I would not …………. because that beautiful woman made me feel alive! ”

Twice under general anesthesia in 24 hours! I was destroyed and like an idiot for a couple of days; Carole was next to me all the time and took care of me every moment in every possible way.

My omnipresent Green Thea Mexican mug- La mia onnipresente tazza da te` verde messicana

My omnipresent Green Thea Mexican mug- La mia onnipresente tazza da te` verde messicana

Ogni bel gioco dura poco 

Ed è subito il giorno dell’operazione, l’MRI conferma che è tutto ok, non ci sono cambiamenti nel cancro e non ci sono metastasi a giro. Lo stent che mi hanno messo nel canale biliare non e un problema, un po’ d’antibiotico e lo sostituiremo durante l’operazione” . Mi leveranno il mostro e dopo sarà dura, ma solo per alcuni mesi!

Sono digiuno, lavato e rilavato con un sapone speciale, il chirurgo mi presenta gli anestesisti, un bacio a Carole e via verso la sala operatoria. Mentalmente ripeto il mantra della mia meditazione: “Ma-ra-na-tha….Ma-ra-na-tha…..” e mi risveglio molte ore dopo accanto a Greta, una brava e gentile infermiera. Carole che mi mette al corrente: “ Non ti hanno operato perché hanno trovato delle metastasi nel fegato; sono molto piccole, ma questa è la procedura. Domattina ti cambiano lo stent”. E l’indomani ci risiamo: sono tutti gentili e l’anestesista è anche bellina, bionda e simpatica; anche questo non guasta!

……..“Ma-ra-na-tha…… Ma-ra-na-tha” che in aramaico vuol dire “vieni o Signore”; e …….mi risveglio alcune ore dopo in un’altra sala di rianimazione dove dovrei restare tre ore e produrre la prescritta quantità di urina per poter tornare a casa.  Nella nebbia del risveglio vedo un paio d’occhi spettacolosi ………….. sogno o son desto? Tocco quello che trovo attaccato agli occhi e loro: ” Maronna!!!” e io: “Allora sei anche italiana!”

Abbiamo passato un’ora scherzando e ridendo, ho prodotto il liquido necessario e dopo meno di un’ora e mezzo sono partito in piena forma e di ottimo umore!

Donne come quella non dovrebbero essere messe nel reparto rianimazione ma in quello della resurrezione!

Il mio amico Paolo ci ha riportato a casa in macchina così ho avuto modo di riflettere: “Non mi hanno operato; è grave? Non credo, me lo avrebbero detto: mi cureranno prima il fegato e poi il pancreas. Forse è più grave di quanto mi sembri e io faccio il bischero con l’infermiera! Beh…….. se avessi capito, non l’avrei fatto; ma no, siamo onesti, l’avrei fatto perché quella bella donna mi ha fatto sentire vivo!”

Due anestesie generali in 24 ore!!! Sono distrutto e resto rimbecillito per un paio di giorni; Carole che mi segue e si cura di me ogni minuto e in ogni modo possibile.

 

 

Leave a Reply

